Meet the Sellers: Moji from Moji Designs

Ok, time for Round Two of ‘Meet the Sellers’, where we get the chance to find out more about Moji, another of the creative minds behind the gorgeous handmade products which will be available to buy at Brighton Craftaganza on March 26th.

Please introduce yourself….

My name is Moji from Moji Designs which is a small design and print company based in the Lewes countryside, East Sussex, England. I am absolutely passionate about my work and very proud of being able to produce my own label “Moji Designs”. My dream is to be able to find a perfect balance between life and work and my proudest achievement is combining motherhood with what I do as an artist. I suppose five words which would describe me best are: creative, passionate, earthy, determined and funny.

 Briefly describe the products you currently make

We produce a collection of silk screen hand printed textiles using solvent-free water based inks on 100% cotton, linen and organic fabrics. The resulting fabrics are then made into a unique range of luxury home accessories and gifts.
We also share our techniques and ideas by running regular workshops and courses such as lampshade making, cushion making and screen printing on textiles from our studio.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin? Or is Craftaganza your first time?
 
Since the company is fairly new and has just recently been launched, the Craftaganza is our first fair as we have mainly tried to focus on the design side of the business so far and carefully have chosen suitable range of products for our online shop.
 

What inspires the things you make?

My inspirations come from  my native country, Persia, and all its unique cultural heritage. The adaptation of motifs from ancient architecture and textiles plays an important role in the formation of our textile designs and gives the current collection a timeless versatility. With vibrant colours, patterns and textures as key elements, the designs reflect the exuberant spirit of the land and its people, and the unique artistic history of Persia.

Other crafter/makers you admire?
 
There are so many talented and creative artists that I know and admire but my favourite one is Rachel Bending from Bird Textiles.

 

Personal motto?
 
To believe in what you do and also to trust your instincts in order to run a successful design business but meanwhile don’t forget to have fun as well.

Many thanks Moji for taking the time to answer our questions. Check out her beautiful webpage.

Leave a comment