‘Meet the Seller’: Lawrence Latham

I know I always say ‘I’m really excited that so-and-so seller will be selling with us…’, but I really am so excited to see Lawrence Latham’s stall at Brighton Craftaganza this year! He will be selling his phenomenal found object lighting  pieces on both days (Saturday 29th and Sunday 30th November), so please don’t miss the opportunity to check out his stall. 

Lawrence Latham

Please introduce yourself….

Hi, my name’s Lawrence Latham and I am a maker of stuff.

Describe the products you currently make to sell

I collect anything from broken cameras to Bakelight, or hubcaps to suitcases and then turn them into lighting. I use end of life or mass produced cameras and recreate lighting where the flash used to sit. Many of my lights also feature adornments of found objects. I always like a little piece of a Brighton carbootier in my work.

Craftaganza1

Where and when do you design and make your products?

I’m lucky enough to have a studio at home. Ok, a spare room. I’m all about the waking up in the morning and then being able to walk straight into my studio. Though ‘Homes Under The Hammer’ or the odd DVD box set means I’m late getting into work sometimes.

Craftaganza3

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I’ve been selling for around 3 years now. I studied graphic design and photography, but realised that I enjoyed collecting and making props for photo shoots more than taking photos! I have a massive collection of old camera parts and cameras and remember taking two parts of different cine cams and moulding them together as a sculpture. But then, I literally had a light bulb moment (sorry, couldn’t resist) I found some a hand stitched filament bulbs and the rest is history, well, three years of it.

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

Love love and more love. I met my partner, but he lived in Brighton. I used to come down on the coach straight from Uni on a Friday night to see him. I just couldn’t bring myself to go back up to London on the Monday… So, I stayed! Eighteen years later I’m happy to be with the most amazing man, in the most creative place in the galaxy.

Craftaganza2

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I love mashing up ceramics and toy figures. Action Men, Victoriana ceramics and Transformers are my current favourites.

What inspires the things you make?

Jumble sales and carboots are where I dream about ideas, and my Etsy store is where all the ideas are for sale. I love all things random. Anything from Alphabety Spaghetti to the intricate workings of a Casio watch inspire me. I have an old children’s book from the 1970’s called ‘How it Works’ and I love reading it to look at the process of things being made, it always helps me form ideas.

Personal motto?

Love what you do, and wear a vest.

Craftaganza4

Leave a Reply

