‘Meet the Seller’: Anna Watson

If you can’t think of someone you know who like a piece of Anna Watson jewellery this Christmas, then I’m not sure you know enough people!!! On sale on Saturday 29th November, I’m having trouble deciding which is my favourite piece…

IMG_0651

Please introduce yourself….

My name is Anna and I’m a jewellery Designer

Describe the products you currently make to sell

I make pendants, rings and small sculptures out of wood, plastic, brass, silver, copper and gold. I use clean forms and polished surfaces to reveal the qualities of the material, to catch the light and attract the eye. The pieces are highly tactile inviting the wearer to play and fiddle with them. They have also been designed to be displayed simply as objects on the mantle piece or on a shelf.

FullSizeRender

Where and when do you design and make your products?

I have a workshop in Brighton where I develop designs which generally emerge through the making process. At home, when I’m on the bus, walking and cycling I’m also designing and developing my ideas.

IMG_1361

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I studied 3d Design Materials Practice at the University of Brighton, since graduating in 2011 I’ve worked for other jewellers. I have had my workshop since graduation and am there most of the time, in this last year I’ve developed the business and am beginning to do more jewellery and craft shows, and provide work for various stockists.

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

I’m a native!

IMG_1162

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I love all art and craft practices and try everything I can get my paws on! I spend time painting and drawing.

What inspires the things you make?

Films, books landscapes, people, holidays, places and spaces and the feelings and wonder they evoke.

IMG_1221

Personal motto?

Don’t overthink things.

Leave a Reply

