‘Meet the Seller’: Vicky from Woah there Pickle

Vicky will be returning to sell at Brighton Craftaganza on both days (29th & 30th November) this year. I have no idea why we haven’t interviewed her previously, but today I’m making amends. Let’s hear about the lovely lady behind the awesome lino-cut designs…. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Please introduce yourself….

Ello! I’m Vicky and I make all sorts of linocut bits and bobs as Woah there Pickle.

Describe the products you currently make to sell:

I hand carve and print linocuts which form the basis for all of my products but these range from original prints and cards to badges, tea towels and now Christmas decorations as well. There’s normally lots of colour or bold typography and hopefully subjects that bring a smile to people faces.

elfis red

Where and when do you design and make your products?

I do all my printing at home on my kitchen table, that’s one of the things I love about linocutting, you can do it anywhere. You can find me printing at pretty much any time of day as well. There’s something very relaxing about sitting down at the end of the day and carving out a new block. I just know that if I start stabbing myself it’s probably time for bed!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I studied Graphic Design at Uni but never did a whole lot with it, I was much more interested in commercial print and printmaking. Then, just before moving to Brighton I went to America for a few months and on a bit of road trip went to visit one of the oldest letterpress print shops in the country, Hatch Show Print. It was seeing how they incorporated hand carved blocks into their archive of moveable type that made me think that actually that bit doesn’t really need much set up or equipment at all. So as soon as I got back I started linocut printmaking. That was in 2009 and I’ve been obsessively printing ever since.

What drew you to the Brighton area (either to live or to sell, interpret as you like), if you are not a ‘native’?

I was living in Kingston after going to Uni there and came on a few weekend visits to Brighton, just to the beach and a wander around the shops. I knew it would be an awesome place to live so eventually moved and I love it here. The sea is right there, there’s so much going on and it’s full of all sorts of weird and wonderful people. Not to mention it’s just a great place to be if you do anything artistic or creative.

IMG_4455

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I’m also a bit of a crochet fiend. My mum taught me a few years ago when I wanted to make a baby blanket for a friend and I was hooked (as they say – boom boom!). I’ve recently been trying amigurumi which is so much fun because once you have the basic stitches down you can make anything you can imagine!

IMG_5418

What inspires the things you make?

Anything and everything that will make me smile. Nostalgia, quirky objects, funny sayings and things from places I’ve been all feature in my prints. Humor is very important in the work that I do and I know that if I pull back the paper on the final colour I’m printing and it makes me laugh, I’ve done a good job.

Personal motto?

That’s a tricky one but there’s one thing that I’m sure will end up on a print one day and is a popular sign in the bars in New Orleans – Be Nice or Leave!

Leave a Reply

