‘Meet the Seller’: Amalia from Linescapes

If you are looking for a gift for an architecture loving person, then stop your search right this second and make sure you are at the Christmas Brighton Craftaganza craft market on Sunday 30th November.  The detailed, high quality illustrative work by Linescapes will fill that Christmas stocking perfectly! 

Amalia CV

Please introduce yourself….

Hi, I’m Amalia, a free-lance designer with over 20 year experience in Spain, the UK and USA and the creative brain behind Linescapes. After training in Architecture and obtaining a Masters Degree at the Royal College of Art, I recently gave up my free-lance job in architecture in order to dedicate my full attention to developing Linescapes into a successful brand.

Describe the products you currently make to sell

With the CAD software I used in my professional life, I create colourful illustrations of objects I find interesting like vintage cameras. I also enjoy creating abstract patterns inspired by architecture and detailed drawings of well-known buildings. The latter is my current focus and I intend to continue developing collections of buildings around the UK and further afield as well as taking commissions like a recent house portrait and a drawing of Sydney Opera House.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Where and when do you design and make your products?

After moving to Brighton ten months ago, I refurbished my flat extensively in order to create a larger spare room that I could use as my studio. Originally my husband and I used to work together but as I started expanding the brand, he’s been forced to work in the main bedroom so I can make room for my paper trimmer, computer, materials, etc. (bless his heart…)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I started painting furniture and boxes 25 years ago in Spain but got side tracked by my studies and my job. It was only three years ago that my husband encouraged me to start painting again which I did with a vengeance! In the meantime, I started creating the vintage camera collection which sold very well and since then the illustrations and stationery work has taken over the paintings as my main activity.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

I have wanted to move to Brighton for years now but it was only when I was made redundant last year and went free-lance that we decided to take the plunge and move. I love the architecture, the friendly people, creative atmosphere and general laid back attitude. I can’t imagine living anywhere else anymore!

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

My hand painted products are still in the background but lately I have been too busy with my illustrations to dedicate to it the time I’d like to. I also make notebooks with beautiful materials for covers. All my work can bee seen on my website, www.linescapes.co.uk.

I’m planning to showcase all of my work when I open my flat during the Open House in December with 4 four other artists which is very exciting! Keep an eye on the Artists Open House website for details (www.aoh.org.uk)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What inspires the things you make?

My eclectic style is inspired mainly by the aesthetics of the Mid Century and Bauhaus movements, beautiful product design, and an obsession with stationery (and Pinterest!). This, and my experience as an architect, has resulted in the strong sense of colour, shapes and graphics evident in my products.

Personal motto?

Follow your dream. Simple…. :o)

Leave a Reply

