‘Meet the Seller’: Jake McCombe Jewellery

If you’re looking for The Special Gift this Christmas, or even fancy treating yourself to something amazing, I think I know just the jeweller for you! Jake will he selling his amazing contemporary jewellery on both days (29th & 30th November) at the Christmas Brighton Craftaganza at Fabrica. 

IMG_2133

Please introduce yourself….

My name is Jake McCombe. I am a jewellery designer / maker base in Brighton. I set up Jake McCombe Jewellery a year ago.

Describe the products you currently make to sell

I design and make gold plated jewellery that is both classic looking and minimal in design. I also have a range of acrylic, wood and silver jewellery that takes inspiration from Japaneses traditional patterns. For Craftaganze November 2014 I will be selling a mixture of both ranges with some new piece made especially for the event.

Jake McCombe Jewellery Collection section

Where and when do you design and make your products?

I have ideas for jewellery designs at different times and places, I have a note book that I carry with me so I can write and sketch them down at any time, then enhance the ideas when I’m ready. I have a bench at home so most of my work is done there, very handy.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I studied jewellery design at Middlesex University then worked for established jewellery designers in London for a few years. I started to make my own jewellery to sell about three years ago, and I’ve had my own brand for just over a year.

low res hand D01

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

I’d always wanted to live in Brighton and finally the opportunity presented itself, since then I’ve made it my home. I love living by the see and find its a great creative hub.

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

I also run projects under the name SuperAwesomeProductions, we design and make art installations for festivals and event. The last pieces was a swing that had a glitter shower, lights and flowers attached that was hung from a tree near the main stage at ‘Secret Garden Party’ music festival.

Jake McCombe Rhombus Pendant Gold plated

What inspires the things you make?

My work is inspired by many different things, recently I have been looking at technical diagrams from the 1950s of mathematical shapes and symbols, beautifully hand drawn and ordered.

Personal motto?

Push your ideas, strive for the best, go for it!

hand ring

2 responses to “‘Meet the Seller’: Jake McCombe Jewellery

  1. Wow! What gorgeous jewellery. #loveit

Leave a Reply

