‘Meet the Seller’: Hannah from Speckled Fawn Soaps

I’m so pleased to have today’s seller with us this Saturday at the Summer Brighton Craftaganza craft market. New on to the craft scene, Hannah from Speckled Fawn Soaps creates awesome handmade soaps, taking traditional methods to produce items that should appeal to all age groups.

411835_104923372987518_1423399528_o

Please introduce yourself….

Hi, I’m Hannah and I run Speckled Fawn Soaps. I am a fairly new soap maker based in central Brighton and am constantly working on new and exciting soapy ideas!

Describe the products you currently make to sell

I make traditional cold process soaps – that means I mix lovely and moisturising oils with an alkali, to form a chemical reaction which forms soap, adding essential oils, fragrances and botanicals along the way, to make really natural, moisturising and pretty bars of soap.

578544_367835119995740_156597235_n

Where and when do you design and make your products?

All the magic happens in my little flat. I have dedicated areas and equipment for my soap making, so I know exactly what is going into every soap I make. At home, I research every ingredient I put in, and experiment with all kinds of different combinations and I don’t put a batch of soap up for sale until I’m really happy with it!

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

About a year and a half ago I decided I would quite like to try out soap making. Shortly after, I went on a mini soap making workshop, but came out feeling a little let down as we learnt about making soaps look pretty, but not about the actual chemistry involved in making soap – the important stuff. So I sat at home night after night, and made it my mission to teach myself everything. A couple of months after that, I tried out my first batch, and it worked! I have tweaked my recipes lots since, and I’m really happy with how my soap making has
progressed. About 6 months ago I became EU certified to legally sell my soaps, and although it’s still quite new for me, I’m trying to do more and more craft fairs!

421795_361544923958093_274098894_n

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

I moved down to Brighton from Manchester two years ago, and to be honest, I don’t know why it took me so long. Nowhere in the UK is like Brighton really. It’s such an inspiring city, everything is so colourful and I constantly feel surrounded by creative people here. It’s just great!

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I love to try everything really. I do a little bit of drawing, and some screenprinting sometimes, but unfortunately I feel like there’s never enough space in my head to
learn to do all the crafty things I’d like!

574796_361512843961301_1732546343_n

What inspires the things you make?

I work in a local health food shop so I’m always quite conscious about what’s good for me and good for my health, which I think is partly why I enjoy making soap so much – I feel much more comfortable using something on my skin if I know there are no nasties in there. I am also a terrible hoarder of pretty things, and it gives me great satisfaction to make something that can be really pretty yet still functional!

Personal motto?

Always make time to do things you love – it’ll make you much happier with the person you are.

Leave a Reply

