‘Meet the Seller’: Sarah Richards from Dollydripp

It’s awesome when we are able to provide stalls for independent clothing companies at Brighton Craftaganza events. So often they provide more interesting design and better quality than high street equivalents. Sometimes they also provide awesome clothing for niche looks that can be difficult to find in the shops, like Rockabilly and pin-up styles for example. Today’s Meet-the-Seller interviewee does just that….

Photo Shoot

Please introduce yourself….

I’m Sarah Louise Richards and I’m a fashion designer. I currently run a rockabilly style clothing & accessories label called Dollydripp.

Describe the products you currently make to sell

All my items are heavily influenced by rockabilly & pin up styles and tattoo culture. My main products are womens clothing and I make dresses, skirts, causal wear and sleepwear. I also have a homewares and accessories range which all feature appliquéd old school style tattoo designs.

PuckerUp1small

Where and when do you design and make your products?

I run my business full time from home. I have a dedicated sewing space but I tend to find I end up with my work spread out all over the flat! Thankfully I have a nice big living room floor to do my pattern cutting.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

Dollydripp will be 2 years old in July. I always say that it started with a bit of bad luck as I got made redundant from my design job in London. That was actually a blessing in disguise as it gave me a bit of breathing space to really think about which way I wanted my career to go. I was becoming tired of designing mass produced fashion and I missed the creative freedom. I was already making bits and pieces in my spare time so I decided to do the Princes Trust Explore Enterprise course and it all took off from there.

hellosailor1_2012

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

I’ve only recently moved to Brighton and I’m so glad I did! I’d been living in Reading for the last few years as it was an easy commute to London but it isn’t the most creative place in the world! (Sorry Reading!) I really missed living somewhere that had a buzz about it.

My family lives in the Northwest and I did my degree at University of Central Lancashire so I was situated between Liverpool and Manchester and I was always going to gigs, festivals, exhibitions, visiting independent shops and I really wanted to be somewhere where there was always something going on again. Being by the sea is an added bonus!

Photo Shoot

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I don’t really do anything else crafty. I do love illustrating and I tend to spend a lot of time illustrating new designs even though I’m the only person who sees them!

What inspires the things you make?

I draw a lot of inspiration from vintage/retro fashion, mostly the 50’s rockabilly and pin up style, but update it and give it a modern twist. I still follow the catwalk shows every season as I get inspired by beautiful clothes and I keep up to date by researching trends and street styles. I try to mix all these elements into my garments and design things that I would want to wear.

Personal motto?

Focus on yourself; don’t worry about what others are doing.

Photo Shoot

Leave a Reply

