‘Meet the Seller’: Andrea from Andrea Eserin Jewellery

It’s awesome to find a new-to-Craftaganza seller whose work takes traditional mediums (in this case, silver-smithing) and fuses them with less usual inspiration points (like amoebas!). Andrea Eserin is one such designer-maker….

IMG_7632

Describe the products you currently make to sell

Beautifully designed and handmade jewellery usually in silver, coloured resin and semi-precious and precious gemstones as points of detail. I also make to commission in gold and platinum, including engagement and wedding rings.

Twist group 2

Where and when do you design and make your products?

At the moment I work part-time while my 3 year old goes to nursery in my cosy workshop at the end of my garden! When she goes to school in September I will be expanding my business into more galleries and selling more online.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I actually did a degree in Jewellery design at Middlesex, graduating in 1998, so since then I’ve been making and selling my own work in between (and at the same time often!) travelling, and working for other jewellers making and selling their work.

Leela group

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

I grew up in the Brighton area and went to school here, so after university in London I gravitated back. It’s such a vibrant, creative and interesting city, that’s changed a lot over that time. I’ve worked with or alongside several of the lovely jewellers in the city, and been involved in many Open Houses over the years.

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I love sewing and spend a lot of time adjusting and embellishing clothes and making lovely things for my children and house. I also bake a lot, particularly anything I can ice with lovely decorations I’ve found!

18ct white gold and diamond marquise eng and eternity

What inspires the things you make?

Beautiful and interesting things I see around me, patterns and colours in nature, fabrics and architecture, particularly in far flung shores. I was very inspired by India when I visited there a couple of times.

Personal motto?

Not really a personal motto, but I hope to be inspired by, and see the positive in each new experience.

Amoeba group

Leave a Reply

