Meet the Seller: Lucy from Lucy Alice Designs

One of my favourite parts of organising the Brighton Craftaganza contemporary craft markets is meeting the new-to-Craftaganza sellers and finding out about them and their beautiful product ranges. Today is the first ‘Meet the Seller’ interview that gives us the opportunity to ‘meet’ one of the sellers and find out a bit about they tick, creatively speaking…

Me in Studio

Please introduce yourself….

Hello! I’m Lucy. I am the Designer/Maker behind Lucy Alice Designs. I set up my business in 2012 after completing a textiles degree. I create products which bring colour & conversation to you and your home.

SONY DSC

Describe the products you currently make to sell

All my products are inspired by British wildlife, geometric patterns & strong colours. My jewellery range is all made using reclaimed laminate & wood veneer offcuts which I source from local companies. I also sell illustrated products including cards, prints, cushions & notebooks. There are so many new products in the pipeline but never enough hours in the day!

Where and when do you design and make your products?

When I first started making my products I made use of our spare room however cabin fever crept in and I was finding it hard to switch off! I now work from an artist studio, it’s great to have a dedicated space to work from which I can walk away from at the end of the day.

SONY DSC

I don’t have a strict timetable but I tend to make up a big stock of products all in one go so I can concentrate on designing and all the other jobs such as invoicing, admin, website, social media etc….! But really it depends what mood I am in and what deadlines I have to meet!

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I launched Lucy Alice Designs in September 2012. I graduated from a Textiles & Surface Design degree in 2011 and after completing a number of internships I realised that what I really wanted was to start my own business. Shortly after my degree I was approached by a gallery who were planning a Christmas arts market and was offered a stall. It was a frantic 3 months of planning a collection of products almost from scratch however it went really well and I haven’t looked back since! Ever since I was little I have wanted to make and sell my work at markets and I am so glad I have been able to do so!

SONY DSC

What is your relationship with the Brighton area and where are you currently based?

I have lived in Arundel Nr Brighton since I was 10. Me and my Mum used to spend every other Saturday visiting Brighton. Just recently I have moved to Kent with my fiancee who secured a had Job there however I still visit frequently and I would love to return one day!

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I love anything crafty and love to learn new skills. I recently went on a silver jewellery course which was fantastic. I am also getting married in August so I am currently enjoying preparing for my crafty, DIY wedding, making decorations and invitations!

SONY DSC

What inspires the things you make?

Colour and pattern are my main inspirations which can come from literally anywhere. The satisfaction of finishing a product makes me just want to make over and over again!

Personal motto?

‘Do what makes you happy’

Leave a Reply

