Meet the Seller: Katie Young

Today is the last chance to virtually-meet one of our talented sellers before the Spring Brighton Craftaganza market itself. Katie is a talented metal worker who just might have the perfect Mother’s Day gift for your mum! She’ll be selling at the market on Saturday 2nd March. 

photo

Please introduce yourself….

I am Katie. I trained and worked as a still life photographer and have always been drawn to creative activities. I have always liked making things (hopefully beautiful!) (possibly useful) with my hands.

Describe the products you currently make to sell

I love working with metal and for the fair I am making enamelled copper bowls. I love the unpredictability of the medium – wonderful effects can be achieved, but they only appear once. If the bowl goes back in the kiln, the colours will change. Enamelling on copper bowls lets the vibrancy of fired enamels to come out.

2

Where and when do you design and make your products?

My designs are vague impressions of colours and textures so happen anywhere, anytime. I have commandeered a small room at home and am slowly building up my workshop.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I have not been selling long. I started enamelling because I love the vibrant colours and organic way the bowl develops. I began selling when friends commissioned bowls as gifts and encouraged me to do it as more than a hobby.

3

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

We fancied a change as we had lived in the country. We moved to Brighton 2 1/2 years ago because it is a lively and exciting city but also very accessible.

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I have always liked working with my hands. I have done all sorts from knitting to black smithing, from woodwork to macramé.

What inspires the things you make?

I am inspired by natural forms and colours. I love the fact that nothing in nature clashes- it always looks right.

Personal motto?

A day without wine….

1

One response to “Meet the Seller: Katie Young

  1. Reblogged this on Elizabeth Anne Norris and commented:
    Great to find another enameller in Brighton.

Leave a Reply

