Meet the Seller: Karen from Twinky

I’m really liking the contemporary, colourful, geometric homeware and accessories of today’s Meet the Seller interviewee, Karen. They will be available at the Spring Brighton Craftaganza on Sunday 3rd March. 

L1030223

Please introduce yourself….

I have been a commercial interior designer for over 14 years with an obsession for colourful fabrics. Last year I decided I needed to start making things with the hordes of fabric I have been collecting and haven’t looked back as I now get to indulge in sourcing and buying up amazing fabrics almost guilt free and making cool products. The problem is letting go of them.

Describe the products you currently make to sell

Contemporary and unique handmade designs including cushions, accessory pouches, kids’ wash bags, and cool totes. Twinky designs are bold, striking and fun! All products are made with high quality fabrics sourced from around the world.

IMG_0990

Where and when do you design and make your products?

I work in my little studio/spare room which I am slowly burying myself in under gorgeous fabrics and cushions. It makes for a very cosy room these days.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I have been selling my wares for around a year mostly to friends. I am so excited to be doing my first market. I think this could be the start of something beautiful.

IMG_8138 smll

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

I moved to Brighton in ‘95’ to do my Interior Architecture BA course and couldn’t bring myself to leave the seaside. After all these years I still love Brighton.

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I am about to buy my first good digital slr camera so that is the next thing I am going to start teaching myself.

IMG_1197

What inspires the things you make?

Patterns, shapes, colours, fashion, materials, furniture, interiors. The list could go on and on plus it helps living in a vibrant place like Brighton.

Personal motto?

If you enjoy something and it inspires you then give it a go, life is too short.

rachels cushion 2

One response to “Meet the Seller: Karen from Twinky

  1. Nice! Good to see some clear lines and geometry on cushions and bags – a break from the twee!

Leave a Reply

