Meet the Seller: Kalee from Kalee Bones

Brighton Craftaganza is very proud to be the first craft market experience for today’s Meet the Seller interviewee, Kalee. Her super-cute cross-stitch work is bound to have heaps of visitors take a second look at her non-traditional take on a traditional craft. Kalee’s products will be on sale on Saturday 2nd March.

484480_10151109300905625_1912884370_n

Please introduce yourself

Hello I’m Kalee Jones, otherwise known as Kalee Bones. I have a passion for all things needle and thread based but cross-stitching is what keeps me busy at the moment!

Describe the products you currently make to sell

I’m currently focusing on cross stitched coasters and framed pictures. I have a set of standard words that have proved to be most popular (unsurprisingly they are all alcoholic beverages), but I also take requests, which has lead to all manner of weird and wonderful words being stitched on! My rule is if it fits on the coaster then I’ll make it!

In addition to this I also produce made-to-order framed baby name pictures. I had only planned on making a couple just for my friends’ babies as gifts, but they proved to be quite popular after that so I decided to sell them on my site!

IMG_0229

Where and when do you design and make your products?

Luckily my stitching is a portable hobby that requires very little equipment, so I can pretty much take it with me wherever I go. I’m most productive, however, when I’m sat on my bed under a blanket watching re-runs of various teen dramas.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I’ve sold bits and bobs to friends in the past, but my first actual sale to a complete stranger was in November last year. It’s the best feeling ever to know that someone is giving you money for your craft based purely on its merit and not because they‘re your friend!

anchors

Have you sold in Brighton before? If not, what made you decide to do so?

I’ve never sold at any form of craft market before. I figured that it would help get my products out there in the public eye as I’m quite hopeless at marketing myself online! Craftaganza is such a great collection of creatives and I feel really lucky to be involved!

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I mostly get involved with stitching in it’s various forms, and love running up cushion covers and little pouches for mobile phones! There was also a fairly dodgy attempt at clothes making in my early twenties which lead to some rather questionable outfits for a few months… Also I like making greetings cards when I get time, which doesn’t seem like very often these days!

name frame girls

What inspires the things you make?

I like simple shapes and bold designs, and why not tell the world what you love by having it stitched onto a coaster?!

Personal motto?

Stitch ‘til you can’t see straight.

Hearts Anchors

Leave a Reply

