Meet the Seller: Abbi from edwina.simone

It would seem that Abbi from edwina.simone can turn just about any material into beautiful and wearable jewellery. Why not pop down to Fabrica on Sunday 3rd March to check out her range in the flesh? Kind of sounds crazy not to…

Abbi 1

Please introduce yourself…

I’m Abbi, designer, maker, tea drinker, polka dot wearer, leopard print lover, dachshund owner behind edwina.simone. edwina.simone offers bold but delicate design & illustration; inspired by pattern, nature, geometricity, fabrics & repetition. I aim to create individual & unusual items that incorporate a sense of fun.

Describe the products you currently make to sell

Each piece is unique or made in a limited quantity, carefully crafted using a variety of materials, from plastic, sterling silver & resin, to aluminium, lace & semi precious stones.

NL 1 (3)

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

edwina.simone was originally born in 2008, a couple of years after graduating, I decided to sell the creative wares I had always made, whilst also working part time in a pub. After a brief stint in full time Teaching and Support Work and the realization I quite wanted to work for myself rather than other people so recently went part time in the day job to persue my crafty persuits.

Where and when do you design and make your products?

I’m lucky enough to have a studio in a spare room in my home, which I work from around the part time day job.

silver pierced necklace1

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

I love Brighton, the culture, the atmosphere and the variety of independent retailers and creativity. I also love the array of independent tea shops and cake shops.

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I am currently working on illustrations for printed scarves and also prints. I can turn my hand to most kinds of crafts; often drawing, painting and restoring old furniture, however am a useless knitter.

polymer necklaces WS

What inspires the things you make?

Jewellery is inspired by pattern, nature, geometricity, fabrics and repetition; I enjoy working with rough semi precious crystals, combining colors, prints and textures to create bold pieces.

Personal motto?

Follow your heart; stay true; be strong.

IMG_20130107_101348

Leave a Reply

