Meet the Seller: Cat Brown from Cat’s Ceramics

Today’s meet the seller interviewee is ceramically-talented Cat! She will be selling her work at the Spring Brighton Craftaganza on Sunday 3rd March. She’s likely to be the purveyor of many awesome handmade Mother’s Day gifts… Just sayin’!

A day in the life

Please introduce yourself….

My name is Cat Brown and I’m the human Cat behind ‘Cat’s Ceramics’ . My company is unique hand built ceramic art, home decor and pottery gifts created my myself.

Describe the products you currently make to sell

We have lovely little dishes and bowls, plates and wall art, decorations and garden accessories such as plant markers and bird baths. I use a lot of plants, organic matter and leaves in my pieces so there is always a heavy nature theme involved. I’m working on a new collection of gorgeous table ware too using vintage doilies!

IMG_2307_Converted_LS_1

Where and when do you design and make your products?

I work from the spare room in my house! It’s a good size room and I have plenty of space to make a mess and that’s where you’ll find me most of the days.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

This is my second year of trading properly, but I must of started making with clay about four years ago. I apprenticed with a sculptor which was such a great experience and really encouraged me to think about working with clay full time.

IMG_3464_Converted

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

Brighton has such a cool vibe. Lots of creativity and expression. I lived in the middle of town a few years ago but couldn’t hack it and had to move back to the country – I missed trees too much! But it’s a great place to visit and people are really kind.

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

Not as many as I used to as clay takes up a lot of time but I like the odd bit of knitting or textile work.

IMG_3422_Converted

What inspires the things you make?

You know what, everything inspires me. Wondering around the countryside, looking at the textures of things. Reading a book, talking to someone. It always surprises me where inspiration can come from.

Personal motto?

“Be in love with your life, every detail of it.”
It’s not exactly mine but I read it the other day and thought this is a pretty good thing to remember. It’s a quote from Jack Kerouac.

IMG_3356_1_Converted

Leave a Reply

