Meet the Seller: Rebecca from Eliza Joan

Rebecca is the stall mate of previous Meet the Seller subject Claudia, and therefore will also be selling her range of interesting and unique crocheted accessories on Saturday 2nd March.

DSC_0180

Please introduce yourself….

Hello my name is Rebecca Mears and I design and sell embellished crocheted neckpieces. I am a Virgo who loves to paint, drink over-priced coffee and watch foreign films. Crocheting is both my hobby and full-time job.

Describe the products you currently make to sell

I sell neckpieces that are crocheted and embellished. Each of the neckpieces fasten with satin ribbons as this gives the freedom of length for any neckline. I also crochet embellished collars, camellia brooches and key fobs. I’d like to think that my designs are unique and innovative.

DSC_1878

Where and when do you design and make your products?

This question is easy- anytime and everywhere… I literally carry my tools with me (black yarn, a 3.00 crochet hook and a mini pair of scissors) wherever I go. I take advantage of every possibility and it is great to do when you have politely agreed to watch the footy- of which you have no interest!! The embellishment is tricky- so I do this at a desk at home.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I studied Fashion Textiles with Business Studies at the University of Brighton and so right from the start I knew that I wanted my own business. We were never taught to crochet though- I taught myself after I graduated. I started selling online and at Spitalfields market in London 2 years ago- where I started selling knitted clutch bags and cushions… Soon I realised that these weren’t economically viable and so just focused on the neckpieces. I now also sell on numerous online shops and in two boutiques.

DSC_1795

Have you sold in Brighton before? If not, what made you decide to
do so?

I sell in a shop in Brighton but never at a craft fair. I live in Eastbourne, went to the University of Brighton and have a soft spot for the place.

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I love to paint- I find it always relaxes me and puts me in a good mood. Give me a canvas, a brush and some acrylics and I’m in heaven!

DSC_0070

What inspires the things you make?

I always look at Vogue every month for inspiration but really I look for potential design ideas everywhere- I crocheted around spectacle frames after my mum broke hers, I crocheted around curtain rings after I found some in a workbox. I love the embellishment designs from the 1960’s which I stumbled across when writing my dissertation on the ‘myths and the mini-skirt 1965-69’ and my bow tie designs were inspired by a Cary Grant film.

Personal motto?

Hmm… I do find myself saying, “If it gives you grief- drop it!” but I stole that from my brother and I don’t think it is that inspirational!! … I don’t have one and if I did, I know it would be hypocritical!

DSC_1847

Leave a Reply

