Meet the Seller: Marie from ACONIT

Today’s ‘Meet the Seller’ candidate is another Craftaganza-newbie, and one whose work I am most excited about seeing in the flesh. Creating wonderful, contemporary jewellery which features beads, stones and metallic elements, I feel Brighton is very likely that this design talent has recently chosen to live and work here. Her work will be on sale on Sunday 9th December. 

effa 2web

Please introduce yourself….

I am Marie-Ambroisie , I am a Textile/Graphic/lot-of-visual-things designer and I create jewelry under the name ACONIT.

Describe the products you currently make to sell

Modern and minimalist jewelry. Between natural, raw shapes and geometry. I love semi-precious stones such as fool’s gold (pyrite, that is my favorite). I mix copper shapes, raw and more smooth stones. Bright and pastels colors coming here and there.

horst white- web

Where and when do you design and make your products?

I make my product in my multi task/study room where I do jewelry but also work on textile illustration. But I work a little bit everywhere when it comes to design. I am thinking a lot during walks, reading, gazing out the window and often my ideas and project threads are making big knots, mixing each other in a joyful mess. So when I am thinking about an illustration project I am working on, my thoughts happily wander on the last interesting thing I found in vintage flea market, a nice sky colour or other random image and I end up thinking about a piece of jewelry (or the other way-around). Ideas on very different projects are all over the place (head and papers).

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

It begin last year. I was a Freelance for a few months, having graduated from a conceptual textile course and I wanted to create something “palpable” that I was able to produce by hand myself.The project came first with colors I wanted and a graphic representation of it. I had a few different projects and jewelry came by itself on top of the list. Still now, colors and visual are very important in the identity of ACONIT.

bracelet 2- web (1)

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

I am very new to Brighton ! I moved here in September. I originally come from France where I was born and studied. I came to work in a London company during my studies for a brief 6 months and that were great memories for me. I came back in England to settle and begin my professional life in London. Being born by the sea, I always feel the need for open space, seashore and tranquillity, Brighton has this with a plus: a lot of creative magma, great places and lots to discover. I feel great living here!

fondP1050348

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I love crochet, but I do not often end up with actual wearable products, I like to try out things and have fun with it. Embroidery is a thing that I would love to have more time to do, it’s a great in-between drawing and textile, I love to create imaginary animals and abstract shapes with it.

What inspires the things you make?

Nature, naive view of science, geometry,skies, plants and rocks. From tiny things, from drawings and patterns, evasive feelings and little bit of daily nonsense.

Personal motto?

Be on your own space-time continuum!
ACONIT-lightmontain

One response to “Meet the Seller: Marie from ACONIT

Leave a Reply

