Meet the Seller: Jacquie from ‘Bird and Button’

Come down to Fabrica on Sunday 9th December to see this wonderful range of handmade gifts and decorations by Bird and Button creator Jacquie…

Please introduce yourself….

Hiya! I’m Jacquie aka Bird and Button and I’m relatively new to the crafting scene. I’m still trying to find my niche, but am enjoying the journey!

Describe the products you currently make to sell

I’m one of life’s dabblers; I like to try a bit of everything and tend to get bored/distracted easily, so I do chop and change. For the Christmas Crafataganza I’ll be selling lots of hand-stitched felt Christmas tree decorations, vintage style Christmas gift tags, Little Fella softies, mugs with knitted cosies and origami bookmarks.

Where and when do you design and make your products?

I have a ‘grown-up proper job’ four days a week, but every Wednesday I work from home in my cosy little craft room in Portslade.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I’ve always loved making things for pleasure, but I set up an Etsy shop and a Folksy shop about a year ago. I tend to be a little sporadic with selling
on these, depending on how much other life stuff gets in the way.

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

I moved to Brighton from Stockport in 1988 when my sister asked me to look after her newborn. I fell in love with Brighton and the rest is history!

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I do a bit of everything! Knitting, sewing, embroidery, jewellery making, paper-crafts. I just wish I had more time to do it all!

What inspires the things you make?

I like browsing charity shops and antique shops and seeing what I can alter to my own tastes. I’ve got lots of crafting books too, you can never have too much inspiration. And I live in one of the most creative cities anywhere, you only have to open your eyes to be inspired.

Personal motto?

Give it a go!

Leave a Reply

