Meet the Seller: Francesca from mooshpie

A big part of why I co-started Brighton Craftaganza was so I had a way to meet lovely and creative people when I first transplanted to Brighton two years ago. Recently meeting Francesca reminded me of this initial aim, as she is both very lovely AND creative, a real delight to have on board for both days of this Christmas’s Brighton Craftaganza.

Please introduce yourself….

Hello I’m mooshpie, an illustrating, screen printing, bookbinding, cake baking whirlwind. You can check out my latest doings from the shed at http://www.mooshpie.co.uk.

Describe the products you currently make to sell

I make lots of lovely treats for you and for your home using my quaint and often dark style of illustration. Creating screen printed shoppers,dainty wall hangings and hand bound books. Lots of festive essentials too like screen printed cards and wrapping paper. Featuring lost children, woodland animals, lacy mushrooms, ginger bread houses and the quintessential british home adornment doilies and net curtains!

Where and when do you design and make your products?

Everything I sell is designed and created by me in my lovely shed!

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I’ve been making things for friends and family for a long long time. mooshpie kind of grew from that starting off as a place to showcase my lastest doings to being my job.

I’ve worked on some exciting projects including a comic and illustrations for the white night festival in October 2010. To recently designing a range of illustrations for Wedding In A Teacup an online boutique.

I did Fine Art printmaking as a degree and love a bit of screen print and etching action. I also have done a course in traditional 2D animation in Vancouver and have studied book binding.

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

I moved down to study a Postgraduate degree in Printmaking and Professional practice. I fell in love with the sea, the buildings, and the people I met. I’ve been here for 12 years now.

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I’m like a hoarder of craft skills and tools, anything that takes a long time and patience to make i’m there. I love doing book binding – sewing the sections, covering the boards in cloth and creating hand tooled gold foil illustrations.
I’ve also got an Adana letter press machine that’s crying out for a printing session soon. My all time favourite piece of equipment though is my trusty Gocco (a Japanese mini screen printing machine) this is what i use to create my cards (pictured above)!

What inspires the things you make?

I’m inspired by many things from folklore, woodland animals – in knitware, japanese shrines, 19th century fairytale prints and books, wooden japanese dolls, quintessential British home decor- think doilies and net curtains, gingerbread houses, small wooden buildings and of course my shed!

Personal motto?

I have two!:

made by girls not by machines

made beautiful for easy to enjoy!

Leave a Reply

