Meet the Seller: Sacha from sachabythesea…

Today’s seller we are meeting creates wonderful and distinctly wearable jewellery pieces that have a personal touch to them. With simple styles suitable for both men and women, Sacha can customise them with a special message, phrase or date that might mean you’ll win the prize for best Christmas present giver this December! Come down to Fabrica on Sunday 9th December to see her work in the flesh…

Please introduce yourself….

Hello, my name is Sacha Jacobsen of sachabythesea…

Describe the products you currently make to sell

I make silver jewellery for guys and girls using traditional silversmithing techniques. My pieces contain text… quotes from classic children’s stories or the words of inspirational people, but more often than not, folk like to customise their jewellery with their own words.

My jewellery can tell a story, let someone know they are loved or commemorate that perfect moment. I love how nosy it allows me to be as people are really open about what it is they are having written. I get little snap shots of other people lives, and it’s always their happiest moments or feelings and that always puts a smile on my face!

Where and when do you design and make your products?

I currently have my work bench set up in our spare room, however with baby number 2 due next year, I’ll have to find another corner of our home to use as my work space!! With an energetic toddler to look after, I have to fit my work around his schedule and work when he sleeps. Luckily he naps for an hour or two everyday but I have recently had to send him to nursery two mornings a week so I can keep up with my orders!

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I started sachabythesea… in the summer this year (2012). I found that I had a bit of spare time everyday when Sonny was asleep, and I’m not the kind of girl to sit around doing nothing. I decided not to go back to work quite soon after getting pregnant as I wanted to be a stay at home mum, however I found that as much fun as that is, I wanted to do something else with my time other than hang out at the park and play with lego! So I decided to turn my hobby into an etsy shop and see how it went…luckily it went far better than I expected and it now more than keeps me busy!!

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

I came here for uni in 2005 and have hung around because my husband set up Small Batch Coffee Company. I’m Cornish and he’s an Aussie so we both love being on the coast and there is such a good vibe here, although I have to admit I’m hardly around that now I have a family.

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I like to sketch but never have the time these days.

What inspires the things you make?

This will sound soppy but my baby. I got my first set of letter stamps just so I could write his name and have it with me all the time. I get inspired by his stories, they are often so full of sentiment that I thought the words would make beautiful jewellery. I also get inspiration from other peoples work, not just jewellers but crafty folk in general and love mooching around at craft fairs.

Personal motto?

Make time for what matters.

I can’t say I always stick to it, life isn’t that simple but I like to remind myself of it when things get a bit hectic, which they often do!

Leave a Reply

