Meet the Seller: Holly Findlay & Get Cutie

Any female Brighton resident with an eye for alternative, individual garments that can’t be found on every high street in the country will most likely already be familiar with Get Cutie. Their wearable designs in super cute and often humorous fabrics speak loud and clear without you needing to say a word!

Describe the products you currently make to sell

I sell handmade felt cards and brooches, and knitted gloves, my mothers funky lampshades and my friends lace camisoles and knickers! I will be sharing my stall with Get Cutie, which sells quirky vintage style items in a wide range of beautiful fabrics. Such as kids dresses, pants, ties, hair accessories, belts. They have a store in the North Laines (33 kensington Gardens) or see http://www.getcutie.co.uk.

Where and when do you design and make your products?

My items are made in Hove, specifically for these xmas stalls, so they are rare little handmade gifts for this Xmas. The lace underwear is all handmade and hand-dyed, in Shoreham. The lampshades are made by my mother for her store in Ely – called Rosie and Dolly, mostly made from fabrics bought from Get Cutie. And all Get Cutie’s Dresses and Accessories are made in Sussex.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I had a vintage clothes stall for 2 years, but when I moved to Brighton the vintage market was rather over saturated! I started working at Get Cutie five years ago, and I love and believe in their products, so I stayed and now work there full time. Get Cutie has been going since 1998, and has developed its own unique following. I think a bit part of that is how different Get Cutie is from other clothes stores, and everything is made in the UK, sweat-shop free! They also offer a wide range of sizes and cup-sizes for women, so anyone and everyone can find an amazing dress, no matter what your body shape. And thats something fabulous which should be championed.

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

I didn’t expect to move here! I visited for a weekend and moved here two weeks later. It was a bit of a shotgun decision. Brighton is different to other cities, its more accepting of change, or difference, it embraces the new and the quirky! I love the creativity that comes from here and I’ve met so many talented people. Its become my home and I cant imagine living anywhere else.

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I used to paint portraits but have little time for that now, so Im trying my hand at guitar!

What inspires the things you make?

Get Cutie has been a massive inspiration. Working with so many talented creative people, I thought I better have a go as well! I love mexicana and vintage, my friend Hannah’s jewellery is a good example of this ( website http://www.mer-made.co.uk ) All things sea-side, mexican and Frida Kahlo inspired, Imelda May the rockabilly singer is a big fan too. (Mer-made jewellery is also available in Get Cutie)

Personal motto?

As a friend of mine says “Remember, We’re on a planet!”, which sounds a little odd 🙂 but it helps me to remember that a lot of things we worry about, are pretty small and insignificant, just remember to do the things you enjoy in life as much as you can! Oh and Always Buy Local. Avoid superstores and seek out small businesses which appreciate and depend on your trade.

Leave a Reply

