Meet the Seller: Katie from Popcorny

We were so pleased when we heard the news that Katie was relocating back to Brighton after a spell in London. Her humorous and colourful prints always attract a lot of attention at Brighton Craftaganza markets from guys as well as girls. Come along on Sunday 9th December to see why. In the meantime, read about the processes behind her work…

Please introduce yourself….

I’m Katie Mac and I call this little brand “Popcorny”.

Describe the products you currently make to sell

I design and create a whole range of products using silkscreen printing, such as limited edition artwork, greeting cards, Tshirts and teatowels to name a few.

Where and when do you design and make your products?

I’ve just moved back to Brighton from London where I had a studio, but for now I’m working on the ideas at home then physically making them at a screen printing studio where I have membership to use all their equipment… That’s the really exciting bit, screen printing is such a long drawn out and unpredictable process, you need to have patience and really love it! Sometimes I can be mixing up one ink colour for over an hour trying to get the exact right shade.
In the end it’s worth it though, I love the way you can see the layers of colour overlapping each other and no two pieces are ever the same.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I started about 4 years ago with a small group exhibition and loved the interaction with customers. It was great to get feedback and see which pieces of work drew more people to them and which ones really didn’t work at all.
It is such an amazing feeling selling my work in person. I still remember the first time someone I didn’t know bought one of my pictures!

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

Brighton has all the good bits of London, condensed, and you don’t have to wade through any nasty bits to get to them! Plus it attracts a certain type of fun loving creative and friendly individual. After being here for 5 years I thought I might be missing out on the cool goings on of London, so I popped up there for a year but it pulled me right back!

What inspires the things you make?

I’m always planning new projects and the ideas can come at any time. I frequently get flashes of inspiration while walking along the street, resulting in scribbles on receipts and napkins. Sometimes i’ll find a long lost scrap of paper with a good idea, and incorporate it into something I’m currently working on.
Each piece in my ‘Bossy Series’ was inspired by someone I know, friends or flatmates from the past… (they know who they are!) for example the “No Smalltalk Before Breakfast” (pictured above) one was very necessary to make in order to save my sanity in the mornings! I then hung it up in the kithen and would just point to it if need be. It worked!

Personal motto?

The harder you work the greater the reward.

Leave a Reply

