Meet the Seller: Katherina from ‘From Choas Comes Beauty’

Today’s ‘Meet the Seller’ interviewee Katherina produces wonderful, wearable jewellery pieces that metaphorically have ‘gift’ written all over them. She will be selling with us on Saturday 8th Dec, so come down to Fabrica to take a closer look…

Please introduce yourself….

Hai There! I am Katherina Wainwright, designer/maker/madwoman behind From Chaos Comes Beauty. You can check out my work at www.fromchaoscomesbeauty.com

Describe the products you currently make to sell

I design and make silver jewellery. I like to think of my pieces as eye catching, feminine and timeless, they aren’t designed to be show stopping pieces that overwhelm a look but instead complement it.

Where and when do you design and make your products?

The majority of designs for my jewellery can happen anywhere at any time without warning, often as im trying to get to sleep. Whether or not they make it into production often depends on whether I sketch them out before my mind wanders on to something else. Alot of pieces I make are also commissions, I get a rough brief on what my client is after and I sketch out a selection of designs for them to mull over. My pieces are produced in my little workshop at home. My husband and I bought our first house almost a year ago and I am now lucky enough to have my own little workshop over looking the garden, before that I had a tiny corner of the livingroom next to the tv which was not at all ideal! Actually making my jewellery has to happen in the time inbetween my day job.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I started making jewellery initially as an escape from my day job, looking around at evening courses I found local silversmithing classes and immediately knew it was for me. I spent all my savings on tools and silver and got making, friends started asking me to make things for them and it built up from there. It is amazing how you can transform a simple sheet of silver into pretty much anything you can think of.  From Chaos Comes Beauty was officially launched at the beginning of 2011 although it was put on hold from spring until recently while I concentrated on setting up home with, and marrying my man. Now I am back and relaunching From Chaos Comes Beauty with a shiny new website and some enchanting new designs just in time for the christmas shoppers.

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

I was born in a sleepy town called Haywards Heath which is about twenty minutes drive from Brighton, but I would consider that close enough to be a native! I am regularly drawn into Brighton for various crafty events, live music and especially the shopping; Brighton has a wonderful array of shops showcasing independant designers.

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I love to try anything crafty, I recently made hundreds of origami cranes to hang from my conservatory ceiling for my wedding reception, the inspiration for this came from a Corinne Bailey Rae video. I also made hundreds of feet of bunting and from this I have built up a strong relationship with my sewing machine! Baking is another little passion of mine (although my waistline is not as keen on it!). One day I would love to have my own little shop in Brighton selling my jewellery and sweet things, i’d call it Sweets & Silver.

What inspires the things you make?

All sorts of things inspire my creativity, the music I listen to, my garden, tattoo culture, daydreams, travelling…. the list goes on.

Personal motto?

If you’re not smiling, you’re not doing it right.

2 responses to “Meet the Seller: Katherina from ‘From Choas Comes Beauty’

  1. Pingback: Meet the Seller Feature… | From Chaos Comes Beauty

  2. Pingback: Eyecatching And Feminine

Leave a Reply

