Meet the seller – Deborah from The Pink Minx

It was at a Brighton art fair last year when, out of the corner of my eye, I saw some super pretty cushions. At the same time naughty words popped into my head and I had to double take to see if i had imagined it. It was one of those tricks like where the word “red” is written in blue ink. My eyes were not deceiving me, the Pink Minx’s work really does make you double take. I’d love to fill my house full of these naughty nice furnishings…

Please introduce yourself….

I am Deborah Ewing aka. The Pink Minx. Mother, maker, crafter, youth worker and impresario. I love a project and I’m never happier than when I’m making or planning towards an event.

Describe the products you currently make to sell

I currently make a range of naughty and nice cushions, bespoke bunting and accessories, many of which can be made to order. I mainly work in vintage cottons and I applique words or pictures to my products. I sometimes feel a little queasy about how pretty and tweedy this can sometimes make my things, that is when I get the urge to put swear words/rude slogans. I’m lucky enough to have a work room in my own home, which is in bohemia, St Leonards.

Where and when do you design and make your products?

In my work room, I play around (I think they call it designing) and make things. I have a constant flow of ideas and find it difficult to materialise all of them as I have a relaxed pace.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I have been making things for 20 years and started when I was pregnant with my daughter, and through the 90’s I was a partner at ‘Get Cutie’ (then called ‘Cutie’) but I stopped making and selling for a while after I moved along the coast to Hastings and got a proper job as a youth worker. Now I try to balance the two by working part time as both a crafter and a youth worker.

What inspires the things you make?

I get my inspiration from everywhere. Particularly old films as I am always looking at the backgrounds at settings and props etc. Using vintage ideas but putting a contemporary twist to it.

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

I moved to Brighton in 1985 and was attracted by the young and vibrant population. My 2 children grew here and we all really enjoyed living here; however we moved to Hastings in 2002 as it reminded me of the smaller, slower paced town that Brighton used to be in ’85. I still have lots of family and friends in Brighton and enjoy my regular visits to my old stomping ground.

Personal motto?

My personal motto is ‘Think Pink/What goes around comes around: I think the Buddhists call it karma.’

Thank you! We can’t wait to see you and your work at the Summer Brighton Craftaganza…

One response to “Meet the seller – Deborah from The Pink Minx

  1. I love your pillows and garland!

Leave a Reply

