Meet the Seller – Laura Dumbrell

There is always an amazing variety of work at events such as craftaganza, especially in this vibrant city (namely Brighton) where art is a huge part of life and our culture. Laura Dumbrell produces work that has really a strong unmistakable style, her bold monochrome illustrations really stand out making her work super unique and totally desirable!…

Please introduce yourself….

I’m a self-taught freelance illustrator from Brighton who recently returned to the seaside and decided I’d like to focus on getting my doodles out and about.

Describe the products you currently make and sell

At the moment I make a range of products printed with my illustrations such as cards, coasters, tote bags, badges, purses and lavender bags.

Where and when do you design and make your products?

At the moment my workspace is my bedroom and my bed is my desk! I like to work from photographs on my laptop which lets me zoom in on pictures and study the details more closely so that’s always close at hand, though if I’m working on a small piece I like to go down to Hove Lawns or the beach and draw outside. I try to make sure that I do a little bit of drawing every day as it’s always good to keep practising.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin? What drew you to the Brighton area, if you’re not a ‘native’?

I’ve recently returned to live here after living and working in London for three years so I’ve only been selling my work for the last few months. When I came back here last summer I was able to dedicate more time to doing some new work and was approached to put on a small display in a gallery on the seafront, and as I really enjoyed doing that I thought it’d be a good idea to try and get more involved in the fairs here. I grew up here and though I’ve lived in other places over the years I’ve always loved the pace of life and the relaxed attitude of people that live here. I also feel really lucky to live somewhere that has such a strong culture for the arts and that there’s always loads of exciting events going on throughout the year.

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

Myself and my friend Kerrie (who I’m sharing a stall with) are currently working together to produce more fabric designs so there’ll be underwear and vests available in the future, and we would like to produce scarves too. I’d like to improve my scalpel skills as I’m keen on including some paper cutting into my work in the future. I also love baking but that’s mainly for self-indulgent reasons!

What inspires the things you make?

Literature – whether that be folklore, fairy tales, ghost stories or graphic novels. Nature – the flora and fauna theme has slowly crept into my work more and more over the last couple of years and it’s something that I’ll never tire of as there’s always so many directions it can take you in. Detail/Precision – I’m always striving to make my work more intricate and seek out other ways of filling the page with patterns and tiny marks/lines.

Personal motto?

I’ve never really had one but the closest I’ve come is recognising that I’m a perfectionist!

Thank you Laura, we can’t wait to see your perfectly beautiful work!…

Leave a Reply

