Meet the seller – Brighton Crock

There must be big things on the horizon for this lady, her work is so stylised and recognisable, humorous and super unique for Brighton. I have been coveting Brighton Crock’s work for quite some time now and they make brilliant original unisex gifts, can’t wait to catch up with her in June…

Please introduce yourself….

Hello!  I’m Sarah and I’ve been making things under the name of Brighton Crock for over a year.

Describe the products you currently make to sell.

I make hand drawn illustrations on plates, crockery and home accessories. My methods are a combination of porcelain pen illustrations and screen printing.

Where and when do you design and make your products?

I have a day job so during the day I think about design ideas then in the evenings and at weekends I make my products.  This normally either takes place at my desk next to my record player or on the sofa in front of the TV!

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?  

I’ve been selling for just over a year online at Etsy http://www.etsy.com/shop/BrightonCrock and at local craft markets.  I’ve been drawing and painting forever.  I also love home furnishings, so I thought drawing on plates would be a change for me.

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

Me and the other half have always loved visiting Brighton, so about 3 years ago when we were looking for a change of scene, Brighton seemed like the obvious choice.  I love the atmosphere compared to London and always imagined myself living by the sea.

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I’m just getting into screen printing and papier mache modelling and would love to explore those more.

What inspires the things you make?

Horror films and home furnishings are 2 of my favourite things.  I try to make my illustrations fun and a bit out of the ordinary, so that’s where my scary seagull and shark designs come from.  Also, you can’t live in Brighton and not be inspired by the amazing architecture and landmarks, so I have a Brighton range too.

Personal motto?

Keep going, regardless!

Thank you Brighton Crocks, our pennies are being saved…

Leave a Reply

