Kerrie Curzon: Sew Hip Success

Brighton based lingerie and clothing designer/maker and Craftaganza seller, Kerrie Curzon, recently made waves at the national ‘Sewing for Pleasure event’ held at the Birmingham NEC when her suit design featured in their catwalk show.

Kerrie created the outfit when entering a competition called ‘Fashion Designer of the Year’ which was organised by the popular sewing magazine, ‘Sew Hip’. Despite only hearing about the competition a week before the closing date, Kerrie submitted design sketches for two of the three catagories, ‘Special Occasion’ and ‘Suit’. Her suit design (her initial sketch is pictured below) was then chosen for the next round and she was required to physically create the suit and send it in by the deadline of January 15th. 

 

So she set  to work bringing her innovative sketch to life, sent it in, and in due course found that she had been selected to enter the finals and that crucial catwalk event, which is where the entrants were told they’d find out the results. With the top three winners each receiving a brand new sewing machine ranging in value from £1799 to £299, and having their design’s sewing pattern published in ‘Sew Hip’, you can bet those fingers were crossed mighty tightly!

Kerrie explains:

‘Due to a technical error most of us already knew the results in advance when the magazine came out early. I was quite happy about this as it meant I was less nervous on the day. I also received a lovely letter from the editor of Sew Hip. So I found out I’d won second place from @sewlittletosay on Twitter!’
 
Coming second meant that Kerrie will soon become a published sewing pattern designer, as well as being the proud over of a Janome Memory Craft 5900QC sewing machine (pictured below), which has over two hundred stitches including alphabets!


 
With all the aniticipation that lead to her triumph in Birmingham, how did Kerrie find the experience on the big day?:

‘I took my mum along to the show where she embarrassed me with her proud mumness. It was thrilling to see my design on the runway, though a little frustrating because the outfit wasn’t quite worn correctly, but I was able to adjust it for the photos afterwards (see top image).’
 
‘I don’t really consider myself a designer, as I usually just make what I like. I’m more interested in the making than the designing, so I surprised myself when I came up with this. The next stage will be to grade the pattern and write instructions to appear in the magazine!’
 

Kerrie’s brand spanking new machine will no doubt come in handy for creating her beautiful underwear range, ‘Charm & Laundry’, but she is also available for garment commissions of all kinds. You can contact Kerrie by email at paperfairies@yahoo.co.uk, alternatively come and see her at the Summer Brighton Craftaganza on 4th and 5th June, where she will be selling items from the Charm and Laundry collection.

Leave a Reply

