Meet the Seller: Elizabeth from ‘Known to Man’

Etsy pro Elizabeth will be sharing her imaginative range of cuff links for the first time at the Spring Brighton Craftaganza! But did you know that by purchasing her work, you will also be supporting an important local charity?

Please introduce yourself….

My name is Elizabeth Anne Norris. I am many things but you’ll find me at March Craftaganza under the guise of ‘Known to Man’.

I also do the following: Geeky Air Quality Analyst, Jewellery Designer/Maker , Enamel Artist and Jewellery Teacher.

Describe the products you currently make to sell

‘Known to Man’ cufflinks are up-cycled unisex cufflinks made from found, recycled or locally sourced objects. I also want to help out a charity close to my heart so 10% of sales go to the UK homeless Charity Crisis. Could these be the most earth friendly cufflinks ‘Known to Man’?

Where and when do you design and make your products?

On a Monday and Tuesday you’ll find me in a lovely creative space called Coachwerks, Hollingdean. Coachwerks houses many interesting artists including photographers, green woodworkers, screen printers, musicians, actors, weavers, stone masons, costume designers, curtain makers, natural dyed fabric and soap makers.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

My ‘Known to Man’ cufflinks are a relatively new thing. They are being unveiled to the Brighton public for the first time at March Craftaganza. Exciting !
Since way back I’ve been concerned about Environmental Issues both locally and globally. I’ve always recycled as much as possible even before door to door collections became the norm. I guess I wanted to inject this passion into my jewellery. This is where the idea for my ‘Known To Man’ cufflinks came from.

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

I moved to Brighton in 1995 because most of my work colleagues lived here and we had many work socials down here. I fell in love with the place and had to make it my home. Apart from a brief stint in London I’ve lived here ever since.
I love Brighton for its eclectic mix of interesting and creative people. There’s not many places you can learn tribal fusion Bellydance to funky Balkan music like I do.

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

Silver and enamel jewellery, enamel wall art, bespoke wedding rings.

What inspires the things you make?

I love colour, texture and pattern both in nature and manmade objects. I’m fascinated how things connect together in a geeky engineering type way. I am amazed how machines can be so perfect but I adore the look of a handmade ceramic pot or hand blown glass.

Personal motto?

I’m an advocate of handmade and well made.

Leave a Reply

