Meet the Seller: Claire from Silver Sea Jewellery

Time to check out some beautiful jewellery from a new seller, Claire Witz…

Please introduce yourself….

My name’s Claire Witz. I’ve been making jewellery as a hobby for many years, originally working on beaded techniques before I moved onto learning silversmithing at Jinks McGarth’s studios near Ditchling. I’ve now just set up my own business SilverSea Jewellery based in Brighton.

Describe the products you currently make to sell

I make ready to wear jewelley that’s entirely handmade using high quality materials. My designs encompass metal work with semi-precious stones and bead that bring light, colour and individuality to the pieces. Techniques including forging precious metals add a visual and textural feel to the work.

I really enjoy making jewellery that, as well as being visually stunning, has a tactile, fresh and playful feel. I also undertake individual commissions for weddings, anniverisaries, birthdays and other special occasions. I recently made these teddy bear cufflinks for a Valentines day present. You can check out my website and my etsy shop.

Where and when do you design and make your products?

I share a workshop with another jeweller, Elizabeth Anne Norris, at Coachwerks Studios in Brighton where I make all my products. I also have a habit of taking
pictures on my phone of things that catch my eye when I’m out and about, I then incorporate these in my designs.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I’m a newbee to this business stuff and only just getting going. It’s a lot of hard
work but it’s what I’ve always wanted to do! I used to work in education for a government organisation and so I began by making jewellery as a hobby and for friends birthday presents.

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I don’t really practice any other crafts but love art in many forms. I would like to do photography but don’t seem to have the eye for it unfortunately. I admire people that can capture amazing photographs of the simplist things yet the picture can make you stop and look at it for ages just to gaze at the beauty of it.

What inspires the things you make?

I love different textures and how they look and feel when worn. I use them in a lot of my work whether it’s forging metal or using other materials like lace to texture metal.

Personal motto?

Life’s to short not to persue your dreams.

Leave a Reply

