Meet the Seller: Jane from Plaster Boutique

I’d never considered plaster a particularly expressive medium, but seeing the work that fills Jane’s ‘Plaster Boutique’, I was quick to rethink…

Please introduce yourself….

Hi, I’m Jane Harvey, I’ve been creating and selling my work since a teenager. I have since studied fine art in Leeds, Holland and Belfast. However it was a fibrous plaster apprenticeship that I studied while working in Yemen that has made the biggest impact on my work. This amazing opportunity fuelled my passion for creating in this medium with a particular love of ornate plaster.

What inspires the things you make?

I have always been interested in using ideas and concepts to portray a story or narrative in my work with inspirations from all sorts of sources such as creative friends, the outdoors, ornamental plaster, seaside life, everyday objects and travelling to random inspiring places.

Describe the products you currently make to sell  

Sumptuous plaster cravings in the form of unique ceiling rose designs, hand carved frames and decorative art works.

Where and when do you design and make your products?

I have been making, whilst shivering lots in the shed studio here in Brighton and Hove. I am part of a local Art Club, a very talented group where we discuss ideas, eat lots of biscuits and occasionally make some nice art work.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I started out as a water colourist, I have since discovered a love of relief carving and the process of moulding and shaping fibrous plaster into various objects and designs.

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

I moved here from Leeds quite a few years ago after completing a fine art degree. I was drawn here by the buzz and creative inspiration of this unique place. I love the artist communities here and the diversity of work which is very much part of the character of this city.

Personal motto?

I know it’s easier said than done but stick with your love of creating and always do what makes you happy, no matter what the economic climate!

2 responses to “Meet the Seller: Jane from Plaster Boutique

  1. Really like some of your artwork. just opened a letting agency in Swansea and particularly interested in the piece of a building for our office.
    What is the cost of this piece ? Regards Donna davison

  2. Hi Donna, many thanks for your comment. Great to hear you like Jane’s work as uch as we do. You can find her Etsy shop here: http://www.etsy.com/shop/plasterboutique

    All the best

Leave a Reply

