Meet the Seller: Leigh from Quilty Pleasures

I love a good pun more than most, so I’ve been enjoying Leigh’s business name ‘Quilty Pleasures’ for some time. Cute name aside, the amount of time and dedication that must go into each of her colourful and original creations is almost unthinkable!

Please introduce yourself….

Hello I’m Leigh!  I was born in South Africa and started to experiment with fabrics and wool when I was a little girl.  My mum taught me to knit, crochet and sew at the age of eight, and used to make endless collections of clothes and knitwear for my dolls.  When I left school I got busy with a career in international event management, and strayed away from sewing and crafting for about 15 years. 

Describe the products you currently make to sell

I design and make bespoke patchwork quilts, cushions and playmats for babies and children, using only top quality cotton fabrics and threads.  My quilts are inspired by children, they are bright, bursting with colour, easy to care for, and designed to be cherished for many years to come.

Where and when do you design and make your products?

I design and make my products in my home-based studio in Worthing, in and around looking after my six, four and two year old children.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

It was only after I had my three children in 2009  that the creative bug bit me again, and I started to concentrate my efforts on quilting.  That’s when Quilty Pleasures by Leigh Walter was born.  You can visit my website to see some of my previous creations.

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

When I moved to the UK from South Africa in 1995 my brother and his wife were living in Brighton, so it was an obvious choice for me to be based near them.  Over the years I have travelled extensively and lived all over the world, but something always draws me back to the beautiful south coast of England.

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I enjoy knitting, scrapbooking (both digital and traditional) and fiddling with photographs (although I’m not very good with a camera!)

What inspires the things you make?

My children.  We love spending time snuggled up on the sofa under a gorgeously soft quilt, either reading or watching movies together.  When it’s cold outside there is nothing nicer than throwing a log on the fire, snuggling up and turning down the pace of life just a little bit.  They are really drawn to bright colours, and my four year old gives me the final nod on my quilt tops before I quilt and bind them.

Personal motto?

Surround yourself with positive people, cherish the ones you love.

Leave a Reply

