Meet the Seller: Tess from ‘her Indoors’

Tess had a stall at our Christmas event last December, and I was so impressed by the quality and finish of her work. I’m looking forward to seeing what she has under her hat (or scarf!) for this event!

Please introduce yourself….

My name is Tess Robinson-Lane and I trade under the name “her indoors”.

Describe the products you currently make to sell

I produce retro inspired knitted wares for you and your home. The range includes scarves, mittens, cushions and I am introducing patchwork blankets later this year.

Where and when do you design and make your products?

I design and make all of my products at home in Brighton. I work full time as a sales manager for a visual display company in London, so weekends and evenings are the times when I get to do what I love best!

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I learnt to hand knit as a teenager and was soon making jumpers and cardigans for all my friends. However it wasn’t until a few years later that I enrolled in a machine knitting course and fell in love! I set up a design studio with a friend, who was also a knitted textile fan and for five years we produced knitted accessories for various London boutiques and internet companies, we even had a stall at Spitalfields market. We were once asked to knit over 500 mini football scarves for the launch of the ITV sport channel!

I have also been lucky to have been involved in various creative projects; making garments for films and TV programmes such as; The Golden Compass, Neds, City of Ember and Ashes to Ashes, as well as creating props for various high street stores.

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

I moved from London with my partner and our baby pug 5 years ago, we bought
an old house that required (and still does) lots of work. Since moving we have
increased our family to 2 pugs and a French bulldog and have made some
wonderful new friends. We have even started the Brighton Pug Meet up and now
have over 190 members.

It was always my dream to live here…. I love the fact that there is such a mixture of creative elements and that you are free to express yourself.

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

At Christmas I made some scrabble pictures using vintage pictures and papers as
the backgrounds and I am producing some more for the spring show. I am also
going to be introducing some decorated lampshades…..watch this space!

What inspires the things you make?

I am hugely inspired by designs from the 1970’s, whether it’s toys, textiles or
clothing. I love the bold designs and colours of this era. I also look at traditional
knitting patterns and redesign them using modern, on trend colours. I the like the idea of bringing fashion trends into the home.

Personal motto?

Better to have tried and failed than to not have tried at all!

One response to “Meet the Seller: Tess from ‘her Indoors’

  1. Pingback: Product Highlight: Jubilee Cushions from her indoors | brightoncraftaganza

Leave a Reply

