Meet the Seller: Jude from Jessie Jumbles

Today’s ‘Meet the Seller’ subject is clearly adept at bring new life into old textiles, a woman after my own heart!

Please introduce yourself….

Hello! My name is Jude Turner, creator of Jessie Jumbles. I’m a stay at home mum of a lively toddler based in Brighton. Jessie Jumbles creates bits and bobs made from vintage and retro fabric, covered buttons made into accessories with a vintage feel. My Facebook page gives an overall picture of my ideas and creations.  

Describe the products you currently make to sell

I cover metal buttons in vintage fabrics and remnants, recycling the bits and pieces other people might throw away and giving them a new lease of life. I then turn the buttons into hairclips, hair-ties, cufflinks, earrings, broaches and bracelets.  I’ve recently started a new line in decoupage picture frames.  I’ve been using original vintage comic strips to cover them.

Where and when do you design and make your products?

I often get ideas when I’m out and about on long walks with my son and can’t wait to get home and scribble them down. I wouldn’t say I design them as such, I am just drawn to certain patterns and if I love a fabric I try and create something using it. I get the majority of my fabrics from charity shops, car boots and flea markets, as decent fabrics can be hard to find when I’ve found a gem that is what inspires me to make something with it.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I started crafting in the evening when my son started sleeping through the night and that’s how Jessie Jumbles was born. Prior to becoming a mummy I worked in various careers, my longest stints being in the finance industry and managing small independent music shops in London. I am relatively new to the craft industry having started making things last summer and doing my first fair last July. Since then I have become a very busy lady with several regular monthly stalls, an Etsy shop and several stockists in Brighton and other areas of the UK.

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

My husband! He was living here when we met, I already knew Brighton well as I have family here, we fell in love and I moved here to be with him, aahh!

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I am rubbish at knitting and crochet, I do sew but at the moment my latest venture is the decoupage.

What inspires the things you make?

My love of vintage and also creating products for children as I love watching their faces when a monkey clip or a bumblebee broach takes their eye.

 Personal motto?

Good things happen to people who work hard. Wouldn’t say it’s a motto as such but I certainly believe that working hard makes things happen and it’s great to be able to work doing something I love.

Leave a Reply

