Meet the Seller: Kate Butler

Let’s look at some beautiful jewellery that will be on sale at the next Brighton Craftaganza, courtesy of another of out talented sellers.

Please introduce yourself….

I’m Kate Butler

Briefly describe the products you currently make

I design and make unique pieces of jewellery in silver, with touches of gold, semi-precious stones, and threads. I use a lot of intricate piercing in my work and like to experiment with different finishes.  I try to reuse and recycle  silver  and source ethically mined gems as much as possible.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin? Or is Craftaganza your first time?

I learnt silversmithing a few years ago at evening classes the Firefly Studios in Brighton. I did an Open House this year during the Brighton Festival, which was the first time I’d displayed and sold my work, and Craftaganza will be my first proper market!

Other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I love sewing – I’ll do anything with a needle and thread, from cross stitch to clothes to curtains. I’m working on incorporating embroidery into my silver jewellery.

What inspires the things you make?

My designs are inspired by and evolve from ancient and early Celtic art (makes sense, because I’m Welsh!) I also find inspiration from any old pattern or design book, from the world around, and nature itself. Anywhere really if I think I can make some adornment out of it!

Other crafter/makers you admire?

I have to admire all the teachers I’ve had at Firefly Studios; they are all inspiring and encouraging and have taught me a lot. And of course, Ella Wood, my Craftaganza stand partner makes gorgeous accessories!

Personal Motto?

Try it and see if it works!

One response to “Meet the Seller: Kate Butler

  1. Pingback: Meet the Seller: Ella Wood | brightoncraftaganza

Leave a Reply

