Meet the Seller: Claudette Fernandes from Birdie and Boo Designs

I’m not sure how today’s featured seller manages to find time to make her lovely products, but somehow she does and we are very glad to have her on board for Saturday week!

Please introduce yourself….

My name is Claudette Fernandes, a busy mum of 7, who loves to craft with both new and reclaimed products- from fabric to old books.

Briefly describe the products you currently make

I make a medley of wares, because I am always taken in new directions- I make bags, baby bibs, quilts, clothes.  I also love to crochet, particularly amigurumi toys although I am not averse to making other crochet goodies. In addition I make altered art giftware, particularly shadow boxes.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin? Or is Craftaganza your first time?

I have always had a love for crafts, I think it is in my blood,  both my sister and mother are fiendish crafters. I started making and selling casted models over 20 years ago. At about the same time I taught myself how to sew and then moved on to making jewellery until I ended up where I am today.

I have been selling my wares for a long time but it has mainly been a hobby until comparatively recently. With the encouragement of family and friends I have decided to take it a step further and am presently busy creating my website www.birdieandboodesigns.com and teaching sewing and crochet classes; I have also been trading in a market in south west London. But Craftaganza is my first craft fair and so I am quite excited!

Other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I love to make cards & gift tags and am not averse to a bit of knitting.  On my wish list of things to learn would definitely be screen printing and silversmithing.

What inspires the things you make?

Nature but also everyday things like a coffee shop, architecture and paintings.

Other crafter/makers you admire?

Amy Butler & Anna Maria Horner their creativity are truly inspiring.

But not forgetting our very own Lisa Lam – she started me on my bag making mania and is the reason why my house is stacked to the rafters with fabrics, buttons and other bag making paraphernalia.

Personal motto?

Work hard and never give up – you will be rewarded in the end!

Can’t wait to see the full range of her products very soon. Thanks for taking the time to show us a sneaky peak, Claudette!

Leave a Reply

