Meet the Seller: Katy from Bobbins & Robbins

I’m very excited to introduce to you today a lady who clearly shares my own obsessions with sewing and vintage/reappropriated fabric. I can’t wait to see her creations up close and in the flesh at the fast approaching Craftaganza! 

Please introduce yourself….
 
Hello! My name is Katy Robbins. I make and sell things under the name of Bobbins & Robbins.
 
Briefly describe the products you currently make
 
Bobbins & Robbins is made-to-measure clothing in a vintage style using recycled fabrics. I also make soft toys out of recycled tweed. I’ve recently started making bags out of recycled fabric

 
How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin? Or is Craftaganza your first time?
 
I started selling my wares at Handmade Brighton’s Christmas Fair last year. I really enjoyed the experience and can’t wait for Craftaganza. I’ve always enjoyed sewing. As a young teen, I turned my jeans into flares, stitched pillows and bags and later on, ball gowns. My mum gave me a dressmakers dummy for my birthday last year and that’s when I realized I could start making clothes for other women. I love the way clothes feel and look when they fit properly and I really want to share that with others. I want to make it a luxury that women can afford. 
 
Other crafty disciplines you like to practice?
 
I can knit but I’m not very dedicated towards it. I started knitting a tamoshanta last November (2009) and there’s been no progress on it! My sewing machine usually distracts me. 


 What inspires the things you make?
 
I’m besotted by vintage fashion and thoroughly enjoyed delving in to vintage fashion books to find ideas for the clothing range. I love the feeling of made-to-measure clothes and that has inspired me to share that with others. I really enjoy British Wildlife and British heritage so I had to make the tweed badgers and rabbits. Looking forward to the warmer months ahead and all the adventures I hope to have has encouraged me to make the bags, something fun to stash a packed lunch and my sketchbook in.

 
Other crafter/makers you admire?
 
I admire anyone who can make something, anyone who puts time and effort in to creating beautiful and useful things. Brighton’s a fantastic place for hands on creativity. It’s that creativity which makes Brighton such a fun and unique place to be. I shared a stall at Handmade Brighton with Esther Springett of Cuffs and Ruffs. Esther makes gorgeous cuffs with the neatest detailing I’ve ever seen, out of fantastically fun fabrics. They’re such a clever idea and will jazz up any outfit in a jiffy.
 
 I love the make do and mend philosophy of the wartime era. I always try to use recycled fabrics and get a buzz out of creating something new, useful and pretty from something you would have ordinarily thrown out. I love the challenge of finding second hand fabrics with wonderful patterns.
 
 
Personal motto?
 
As William Morris said, “Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful”.

Thanks Katy! Check out her beautiful site for a taster of what to expect on the 26th at Craftatganza.

One response to “Meet the Seller: Katy from Bobbins & Robbins

  1. Pingback: Seller Update: Bobbins and Robbins | brightoncraftaganza

Leave a Reply

