Meet the Seller: Martha from Martha Mitchell Designs

We met today’s ‘Meet The Seller’ subject, Martha Mitchell, at MADE10 back in November, where she was selling her incredible ceramics.  The quality and refinement of her work is incredible, particularly considering she graduated only two years ago! Plus, her egg cups make me smile every time I look in my cupboard!

Please introduce yourself…..

My names Martha, I set up my business Martha Mitchell Design last year, I now share a studio in Hove with Lizzie Lock a milliner, and Rebecca Cluett a fashion and textile designer. I graduated from Nottingham Trent University 2 years ago with a degree in decorative arts.

Briefly describe the products you currently make

I design and make a selection of home wares from cakestands to tea towels, each item is decorated with intricate fine line drawings of popular food packaging!

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin? Or is craftaganza your first time?

I began selling my products about 18 months ago, I was chosen from university to have a stand at a craft fair called ‘Lustre’ in Nottingham – It was there that I realised designing and making my own products was what I wanted to do! I have done a few craft fairs since then including MADE, and the Islington Art and Design Fair. But this will be my first time at Craftaganza!

I sell my products trough various online outlets including my own website, Notonthehighstreet, and Mydeco. I also sell my products through galleries and shops in Brighton and London.

Other crafty discipline you like to practice?

I can never find any greeting cards I like so I like to make my own! I am hoping to design a range to sell in time for craftaganza!

What inspires the things you make?

I have always loved packaging and multiples, I started drawing sweets and crisps packet and then couldn’t stop! I often go into newsagents and sweetshops to draw.

Other crafter/makers you admire?

I really admire the work of the designer Andrew Tanner, he was a visiting lecturer at university and I found him really inspiring.

Personal motto?

Just get on with it

If ever there was a motto I should probably adopt, it’s that one! Thanks Martha!

Leave a Reply

