Meet the Sellers: Michelle from Naughty Little Pony

It is my very great pleasure to introduce to you today one of my absolute favourite crafters out there: Michelle! I met Michelle about four years ago when we were both in a sewing group together, and have been friends ever since. She has a truly distinct style which, when combined with her insane attention to detail make for seriously fabulous creations. You can see her latest projects and the inspiration that drives her on her blog, and check out her fantastic creations over at her etsy store.

Please introduce yourself….

My name is Michelle Jensen, I am a self taught sewer and crafter of jewellery, accessories and home wear. I started sewing about ten years ago and instantly felt like I’d found a way to let myself be creative and play. Originally hailing from East sussex, I currently live in London and take inspiration from all the amazing exhibitions, galleries, markets and beautiful places.

Briefly describe the products you currently make

The products I make are often very colourful and whimsical. I love to make jewellery out of fabric and I’m naturally drawn to small things.  I make brooches by stuffing a sewn shape then quilting it with decorative machine stitches. My necklaces are made with a mix of sewn ornaments, found items and beads. Each one is a unique talisman! I also enjoy making wall art, and home wears using patchwork, appliqué and machine embroidery techniques. Fabric is wonderful medium to work in because it suggests itself to certain ideas and uses.  

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin? Or is Craftaganza your first time?

I’ve been selling on etsy for about a year and have sold work in an exhibition in New Zealand and at an ‘open studio’ event in London. This will be my first craft fair so I’m really looking forward to seeing how it goes! I started trying to sell the things I make because there are only so many times you can give them as gifts before you run out of people to give them to!

Other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I enjoy clothes making for myself and family members and occasionally do a bit of knitting. I also sew creatures or dolls, but haven’t been able to bring myself to sell these yet as they seem alive to me! In the past I have practiced paper making and bookbinding, and if I had all the space and time in the world I would love to combine this with collage to make journals and notebooks.

What inspires the things you make?

I’m inspired by nature and urban life in equal measure and I enjoy design that makes people smile. I’m also inspired by Japanese and Native American aesthetics, but also by folk and outsider art. I basically love bold colour and pattern. I tend to let myself be drawn to certain colours and shapes, and let ideas spring from them.

Other crafter/makers you admire?

http://loddenland.blogspot.com/

http://camillaengman.blogspot.com/

http://www.maxinesutton.com/artworks.html

Personal motto?

A little nonsense now and then is loved by the wisest men!

Thanks Michelle! I know for a fact that she has been stitching up a storm in preparation for Brighton Craftaganza, I can’t wait to see what her imagination has come with!

Zoe x

Leave a Reply

