Meet the Sellers: Saffron Reichenbacker

I first saw the work of today’s ‘Meet the Seller’ featured crafter, Saffron Reichenbacker, at the wonderful Handmade shop in Kemptown, where her fabulous illustrations and illustrated products grace the shelves. I’m really excited that she will be selling at Brighton Craftaganza, let’s meet her shall we…

Please introduce yourself….

Saffron Reichenbacker, Brighton based artist/maker. 

Briefly describe the products you currently make

I make badges, magnets and pocket mirrors featuring my designs. As well as signed prints. My work is often descibed as Art Deco in style. I like to use clean lines and flat colour.

 

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin? Or is Craftaganza your first time?

I studied Fine Art at Brighton University, (graduating in 2004). I became self employed as an artist/illustrator a couple of years after.

In 2007, my ‘Sailor Boy’ image was used by Nook Art for one of their tote bags.I began to think about other avenues I could explore, rather than just selling prints. After much scrimping and saving, I finally got my hands on a professional badge maker. Suddenly a world of opportunity opened up, I could make badges, mirrors, magnets even bottle openers. If people couldn’t afford a print they could buy a small souveneir. 

I started doing craft fairs in Brighton and London a couple of years ago, the first ones being the Guerrilla Art Market and Handmade Brighton. This went on to become the marvellous Handmade Artist Co-operative shop, (106 St James’s street). You can find me working in there most weeks.

Other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I love collage, making trimmings out of old ribbons and glitter, home made cards, theatrical make up, (is that a discipline?!)

What inspires the things you make?

I’m obsessed with early cinema; the vamps, flappers and ghouls! I’m also fascinated with religious iconography, Jean Genet sailors and Weimar Berlin.

Other crafter/makers you admire?

Gosh, so many of the Handmade artists. Kirstin Stride’s bird badges are exquisite!

I also love Seiko Kato’s wickedly dark, funny and elegant work…

Bella Clarke’s gorgeous carousal gold horses and mysterious vixens

As well as that of my good friend, illustrator and maker, Del Thorpe

Personal motto?

Follow your heart

Sound advice! Thanks Saffron!

One response to “Meet the Sellers: Saffron Reichenbacker

  1. Pingback: Here comes Christmas « Talking Bollocks

Leave a Reply

