Meet the Sellers: Cherie from My Three Trees

Time to meet another of the talented crafters who will be selling their wares at the first Brighton Craftaganza.

Please introduce yourself….

My name is Cherie Lubbock and I am a mother of three grown up daughters. I work full time in education.

The mythreetrees studio is where I create unique fused glass items.  I have always made things from a very early age and continue to experiment with a wide range of materials. Recently I have been exploring fused glass and have made lots of decorative items for the home. I also spend time gardening, and reading when I am not working.

Briefly describe the products you currently make

I make fused glass pieces for the home, including window hangings and sun catchers using bullseye glass with copper wire, confetti and frit inclusions. I also kiln cast as a background. Most of my designs are based on plants and have an organic abstract theme.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin? Or is Craftaganza your first time?

Before I returned to full time work I sold my ceramics at craft fairs and in galleries as part of a cooperative. However, it has only been in the last year that I have worked with glass and I recently opened an Etsy shop to sell my work. Craftaganza will be my first time selling on my own and I am really excited to have the opportunity to be part of this new venture.

Other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I love making sculpture for the garden using willow. I also like felt making, sewing and working with silver to create jewellery.

What inspires the things you make?

Plants, and seed heads in particular, have always fascinated me. I really enjoy gardening and often seem to find my way back to plants as a theme in a lot of my work. Colour is also a strong feature in my designs.

Other crafter/makers you admire?

Sarah Macrae– silver jeweller

Personal motto?

Always be willing to learn

Thanks very much Cherie, for answering our questions. We are honoured that you have chosen Craftaganza as the first venue to sell your amazing products face to face with the public. For more of her colourful craftings, check out her Etsy shop.

Leave a Reply

