Meet the Sellers: Sarah from ‘Rock Cakes’

One of the main reasons Steph, Lisa and myself decided to organise a craft market was to get to meet more crafters and creative people in our locality. But of course, we don’t want to keep them to ourselves, we want all the lovely readers of our blog to meet them too! ‘Meet the Sellers’ is a series of blog posts in which we get to hear about the sellers who will be at Brighton Craftaganza on March 26th in their own words, and get a sneaky peek at their lovely creations which will be on sale. So, with no further ado, I am delighted to introduce to you Sarah:

Please introduce yourself….

Hello
I’m Sarah Meredith aka Rock Cake, I run a small jewellery business and am based in Brighton.

Briefly describe the products you currently make

My main products are precious pieces of jewellery that have a quirky or fun element to them, they are fun but still special and treasures for you to keep forever. I began Rock Cakes with the “Proverbial Collection” which includes the “every cloud…” silver necklace, bracelet and brooch and the “in one ear…” earrings. I also have handmade enamel pieces such as the “Cupcake” rings from the “Tuck Shop” collection and “Pumpkins” in the “Nightmares” collection.  I work with precious and semi precious stones such as diamonds (both cut and rough) rubies, emeralds and sapphires.

I also make some acrylic brooches that are laser cut and assembled by hand, this process allows me to offer some products at a lower price point making my work accessible to everybody and encourages a few more impulse buys.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin? Or is Craftaganza your first time?

I started the company up in 2008 after leaving my job as production manager for a jewellery in London, I have a degree in metal work and jewellery design and wanted to work on my own ideas since I was quite young, I made my first piece of  silver jewellery when I was 16 (half of my life time ago!)

I have work in a few stores and on my website and on Etsy but I like to do craft / selling fairs so that I can actually speak to people, they can get a better feel for my work and what I am about, I also love to see peoples reactions to my work. 

Other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I love cutting and sticking, it helps with my design process and I make cards, which I find very therapeutic.  Very recently I bought a Gocco machine, a little Japanese printing machine, so that I can try a different discipline with my card making, it is also something that I can easily do at home whilst looking after my baby daughter.  

 

What inspires the things you make?

I am inspired by everyday life from what I see to what I hear, I always have a camera on me so I guess this helps me to see the world around me and must influence my work a little, plus living in Brighton helps as it is such a fresh and vibrant city it is a very inspirational place to live.

 Other crafter/makers you admire?

Rob Ryans work is amazing, his paper cutting is so precise it’s mind blowing, I often get green eyed about other makers thinking how did you come up with that??? I love the work of Tord Boontje his work is so beautiful and calming. I also find my self on Etsy lots one of my favourite makers on there is Mpatrizio, I love the soft toys that she makes and she designs gorgeous prints and patterns. There are just too many people out there to mention!…

 Personal motto?

Make your work your best friend.

If you are doing something that you really want to do then never give up.

Never leave the house without a sketch book and camera.

Be sure to visit the Rock Cakes blog, website and etsy shop!

2 responses to “Meet the Sellers: Sarah from ‘Rock Cakes’

  1. Hi nice to meet you Sarah, love your work and look forward to meeting you at the fair – can’t wait 🙂

  2. Pingback: How To Get The Best From Etsy: Rockcakes Shares All… | brightoncraftaganza

Leave a Reply

