‘Meet the Seller’: Suki Price

When she’s not being one half of the ‘Joan of Art’ collective sourcing and selling art materials, Suki Price keeps herself busy making art herself. Her lino prints are really incredible, I whole-heartedly recommend you head down to the Summer Brighton Craftaganza on Sat 15th June to check them out…

DSCF0625

Please introduce yourself

I am an artist who loves being inventive with different materials and techniques. I am inspired to use whatever media best suits each individual project. I particularly love printmaking with lino cuts, then sometimes, scanning in the bold prints and seeing what else I can do with them. I really enjoy combining the contrasting styles of rugged and handmade with clean and machine-made in one image.

Describe the products you currently make to sell

Using varying proportions of these two aesthetics, I produce products such as prints, cards, posters and sets of badges. One of my posters is the Noisy Alphabet- each letter has a sound and a picture to illustrate the creature or object that makes the sound. (A is for Argh, B is for Boo, for example).

wood frames

Where and when do you design and make your products?

Until recently I worked from the comfort of my living room, but now I share a studio with some fellow artists. This provides me with a focused working environment, removed from domestic distractions and some understanding, likeminded people to bounce ideas off.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I have been selling at craft fairs for just over a year now. I previously visited many fairs as a customer and soon noticed the lively spirit of comradery among the stall holders. I still appreciate the social aspect of fairs, being part of a community of makers is wonderfully supportive. Which is especially important considering that making art or craft can be a solitary pursuit if you’re not careful.

Argh!

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

Whilst studying Illustration in London, me and my friends would pile into a car for day trips to Brighton. I decided during the first trip that it would be a great place to live. After graduating, I followed my urge to travel to new places and experience different cultures, before eventually moving here to the seaside. It draws so many interesting people and there’s so much going on and that even I don’t get itchy feet too often.

What crafty disciplines do you like to practice?

Other crafts I currently practise include etching on glass, photography and collage as well as the combination painting with pencil drawing. I find it very satisfying to pull together all the disparate strands of my imagination into coherent solo and group exhibitions. I organise an annual group exhibition of art inspired by New Orleans every summer. I also enjoy the challenging process of making traditional hand painted signs and murals. I am presently preparing to embark on my first endeavour selling new and vintage art materials at Craftaganza in June.

DUTCH COURAGE BLACK@

What inspires the things you make?

My designs express my love of art, travel and food. As well as traditional lettering on old adverts and signage. Artists like Schiele and Picasso that create strong images with simple drawing also inspire me.

Personal motto?

I believe that life is too short not to do what you love so my personal motto would be:
“Better a bad day in the studio than a good day in the office!”

Japan skateboard

2 responses to “‘Meet the Seller’: Suki Price

  1. I have seen Suki’s work and she is brilliant! A friend from my days in Brighton, I have seen her work from idea to finished product. I love that she sees everything as something she can use in an artistic or crafty way. I have a Noisy Alphabet poster. Love it!

  2. Love the prints and the personal motto!

Leave a Reply

