‘Meet the Seller': Jo Tulley from Kidish

Today’s interviewee is busy bringing some much needed fun and character into the UK craft scene and reminding us all not to take ourselves too seriously. Pizza face cushion anyone?! Yes please!!!

SONY DSC

Please introduce yourself:

Hello! I’m Jo Tulley and I make and sell Plush Toys and Cushions. My business is called Kidish and reflects my love for cute, kawaii, kitsch design and illustration.

SONY DSC

Describe the products you currently make to sell

My cushions are all hand-sewn (I am yet to learn how to operate a sewing-machine!) using felt. I really enjoy the entire process of making my cushions; I love putting faces on everyday objects and food and making them into something you can cuddle.

Where and when do you design and make your products?

All my work is made in my studio/family room in Croydon, I then sew them whilst watching TV.

SONY DSC

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

Kidish started as an online jewellery store just over 5 years ago, I started making my cushions a short while afterwards to entertain my son and as gifts for family and friends. I eventually started selling them and they now bring more customers to my store than the jewellery does!

Please describe your relationship to Brighton

I’ve always enjoyed visiting Brighton and a few times people have said to me that my work would go down well there so why not give it a try! I’m really excited to be involved with Craftaganza.

SONY DSC

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

I’ll give anything a go! I love being busy and trying out new things. I’m in the process of decoupaging my dining table and chairs at the moment.

What inspires the things you make?

Faces and facial expressions really make me laugh and inspire me to try different ways of bringing my cushions alive. I’m a big sci-fi geek and have been drawing monsters and aliens since I can remember, making them into cushions and selling them is an added bonus.

Personal motto?

Everything happens for a reason

SONY DSC

One response to “‘Meet the Seller': Jo Tulley from Kidish

  1. I love it!! Also, hello from a fellow London dweller – see you there! :)

Leave a Reply

