Meet the Seller – Caleigh Illberun

I’m so pleased to have uber-talented illustrator Caleigh Illberun on board for this event. She’s already developed a following of fans love her ingenious and highly detailed designs, and I’ll be surprised if she doesn’t get a lot more fans after the Christmas Brighton Craftaganza!

Please introduce yourself….

HI! I’m Caleigh Illerbrun… aka caleigh-ill. I would call myself an illustrator/artist but I work a regular 9-5 like most people. I’m Canadian, but have been living in the UK for almost 6 years now. I like to eat cake and draw. http://www.caleigh-ill.com

Describe the products you currently make to sell

My main creative outlet is drawing/painting, which gets translated in printed items such as coasters, canvas prints and phone cases. I also hand paint stacking dolls, wood boxes and of course I do sell original drawings and paintings. Most things follow some sort of animal theme.

Where and when do you design and make your products?

I have a shack on the coastline where I can personally print my things, the rest (creating and assembling) is done in house, my house in Chichester to be precise at a desk or on the floor, with my things spread out in a near perfect circle around me.

How long have you been selling your wares and how did it begin?

I have been selling my things ever since I started creating them, it was only when I introduced coasters that things started to move quickly, kinda like hot cakes.

What drew you to the Brighton area, if you are not a ‘native’?

Brighton knows a good coaster when they see one.

Any other crafty disciplines you like to practice?

Illustration pretty much takes up of my creative juices at the moment.

What inspires the things you make?

The wildlife in Canada always seems to crop up in my work. Other influences are old storybooks from my childhood, which is unintentional but unavoidable.

Personal motto?

There’s always time to eat cake.

Leave a Reply

